First Church of Christ, Scientist, Belfast was established in 1904 and had various locations in different parts of the city. A site was found in the University area of the city and a permanent building was completed in 1923.
After some years it was clear that a larger Church was needed and the original church became the Sunday School. The new Church was finished in 1937. Both these buildings were designed by the world famous architect Sir Bertram Clough Williams-Ellis, who was known chiefly for his work on the Italianate village of Portmeirion in Wales.
For many years the Church and Sunday School with their distinctive white walls arches and cloisters, set in a beautifully laid out garden were iconic landmarks in this part of the city. They were, and remain, listed buildings.
However,over recent years, as with many buildings of their age and importance, upkeep became more difficult both materially and financially and in 2013 the Church was sold.
In a short time a new Church was established in a well located two story office building. After extensive refurbishment including new colour schemes and décor the Church is now an elegant space with all round windows and sweeping views over trees, playing fields, the famous Harland and Wolff cranes and the new Titanic Quarter around Belfast Harbour to the distant Belfast Hills! This gives a great sense of light.
The upper floor with its newly lifted vaulted ceiling is the Church sanctuary where our Sunday Services and Wednesday meetings are held.
The ground floor is used for Sunday School and as our public Reading Room and for other meetings.
The Church has literally moved with the times, and members and visitors are delighted with the new buildings and look forward to the years ahead.